C2C’s by-election live blog a great success

Yesterday, the DA achieved a landslide victory in an important bellwether by-election in Mitchell’s Plain.

What made it even better was that DA Director of Special Issues and Volunteers Manager Gareth van Onselen live-blogged the day on our Volunteers’ Social Network, Contribute to Change.

He posted 81 updates in about 16 hours, his last post just after midnight, once the result was known. We’re considering doing something similar for election day.

One comment from a reader that really struck me was actually featured in a subsequent post:

I am on holiday in Mexico. Sitting on the beach glued to my laptop

A little crazy, admittedly, but having a fly-on-the-wall view of a successful election campaign is pretty cool, and a little addictive.

It was great for me, because I had other work keeping me busy, but I could still be part of things by simply refreshing my browser every now and again.

0 Responses to “C2C’s by-election live blog a great success”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

