So many blogs, so little time – research or procrastination?

I have to apologise to Dave Duarte for my rather trite comment on an excellent post he wrote this week, entitled “Symptoms of Organisational Attention Deficit Disorder.” It might have seemed dismissive of the post, but certainly wasn’t intended to be. I started to add a further comment expanding on my previous one-line contribution, but then thought perhaps it needed a post of its own.

Dave opened with the question, “Do you ever get so overwhelmed with information that you end up procrastinating on all the things you should be doing to be productive?”

What also came up in subsequent comments was the distinction between “important” and “urgent”. I found myself wondering (aloud, because I recorded it in Dave’s Comments) where reading that post and subsequent comments fitted on my importance/urgency matrix.

That wasn’t a suggestion that reading the post and engaging in the discussion was a waste of time. Not in the slightest. It was very thought-provoking (hence this post). But the point behind my comment was that there are a lot of excellent posts out there. Never mind the irrelevant noise, it’s easy to get overwhelmed by the relevant information.

It’s quite a challenge striking the balance between reading those posts and expanding my knowledge and world view on the one hand, and applying that knowledge in my own work on the other, especially as I discover more and more great blogs. It’s easy to let them take up an ever increasing slice of my time. In order to avoid that, I have to pick and choose what I read. Not always easy.

And, of course, making those decisions really brings home the importance of the title and first line of a post (I’m hoping mine piques the curiosity of a few readers here). Paul Jacobson wrote on Chilibean last week that he subscribes to 250 to 300 blogs and, at time of writing, had 376 unread posts.

How many blogs do you subscribe to? How many posts do you have waiting for you every day? And what proportion of those posts do you read in full (let alone the posts they reference)? I’m guessing you don’t get past the first paragraph or two with many of them.

So, if you’re still reading this, thanks for your attention. šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “So many blogs, so little time – research or procrastination?”


  1. 1 Dave 19 February 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Hey Ant!
    Thanks so much for your follow-up. I certainly wasn’t offended by your comment, in fact you raise a very important point.

    I was, at the peak of my blog-reading activity, subscribed to about 120 feeds. This was overwhelming, and added to my workload without delivering tangible benefit in return.

    I’m currently in a super-busy phase in my work and am tracking 5 work-related blogs, and using only Muti to get a general overview of what’s happening in the blogosphere.

  2. 2 ahazell 19 February 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Dave. I didn’t really think I’d offended you šŸ™‚ but your response made me think about my comment, and I realised I didn’t really do your post justice with a one-liner.

    It’s something I’ve been grappling with recently, especially since New Media is only part of my job, so I have to be careful not to get so immersed that other areas get neglected (especially since it’s the most exciting part of my job).


Leave a Reply

