WordPress and search engine terms

WordPress has an almost very useful feature on its Blog Stats page: It gives search engine terms that people have used to find your blog.

But it doesn’t tell you which search engine they were using, how high in the search engine ranking your blog was, or which post/page it referred them to. I picked this up yesterday when I noticed that someone had found my site via the search engine term “Project manager analogies”. Pretty obscure, don’t you think? (I had another one today: “websites that are cell phone easy” – quite specific ๐Ÿ™‚ )

It piqued my curiosity, so I went to my default search engine, and Googled it. Twenty-five pages later, still no Ant’s World. I looked at a few pages on Yahoo; but then I thought, surely someone’s coded an online tool to do this for me. I found Thunderbot, which looks at the ranking of a particular URL for a particular search engine term on Google, Yahoo and MSN. But it only looks at the first page – i.e. the first ten records. That’s not saving me much time at all. There are also a number of smaller and region-focussed search engines.

Wouldn’t it be great if WordPress Search Engine Terms provided a hyperlink that recreated the page of the search results on the particular search engine from which your visitor linked? It is just a URL, after all.

3 Responses to “WordPress and search engine terms”


  1. 1 Steve 20 January 2008 at 5:27 pm

    A blogging friend once noted that a lot of people found her site with the phrase “stuff to do on Sunday if you’re bored” and as a joke I blogged about that, and that page still seems to get a lot of visitors. Strange.

  2. 2 ahazell 21 January 2008 at 9:52 am

    Hi Steve,
    I have a post I wrote last November about a community using facebook as a platform to pay tribute to their law professor who was murdered, and it still gets regular search engine hits – I guess because it had a couple of inbound links.

    Thanks for stopping by.
    Anthony

    p.s. I had another interesting term over the weekend:
    ant(animal) : inspiration thought
    I like the idea of being found by someone looking for inspiration and thought ๐Ÿ™‚


  1. 1 What were you looking for again? « Khanya Trackback on 21 January 2008 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

