Welcome to Ant’s World

Welcome to my world. I run what’s known as the Relationship Management Unit/Department (essentially, overseeing marketing and consumer relations) for the Democratic Alliance. I’m a political marketeer. 

I’ve just finished an executive short course called Nomadic Marketing run by Dave Duarte at UCT’s Graduate School of Business. What an inspiring three days! Anyone involved in media, marketing or advertising who wants to get to grips with Web 2.0 (and good luck remaining relevant if you don’t) should attend this course.

Nomadic marketing is not rocket science. In fact, a lot of it is common sense. But there’s a hell of a lot of information out there. Much of it’s out there on the net – you can spend a lot of time searching and reading numerous blogs, wikis, etc. and you might eventually reach the same level of insight that is gained in the three days of the course… or maybe not.

The course is three days of information overload combined with the insights, expertise and experience of South Africa’s top technomadic marketeers, distilled into 1-2 hour presentations. It’s also an introduction into a community of people who feed off each other’s ideas and enhance each other’s knowledge. In other words, the learning doesn’t stop at the end of the three days.

So one of the upshots of attending the course (and there are many) is that I’ve decided to start my own blog (and, having given such a glowing review of everyone at Nomadic Marketing, hopefully I’ve ensured a few inbound links 🙂 ) I’ve been involved with blogs before – the Democratic Alliance has two political blogs to which I’ve contributed – but I decided I wanted to write about what I do from a marketing perspective, rather than a political one. My job is political, so I can’t guarantee that I wont get up on my soapbox from time to time; but what I really want to write about is the political party as a brand and how we market that brand – in particular, how we leverage new media to build our brand. I also believe that marketing a political party provides a useful case study to draw some more general conclusions about marketing and communication, and hopefully I’ll be able to do that.

So if you’ve never been particularly interested in politics or the DA, but you are interested in marketing and new media, maybe you’ll find this blog interesting to read. Who knows, you might even find yourself becoming interested in politics again (horror! :))

6 Responses to “Welcome to Ant’s World”


  1. 1 Eric Edelstein 4 November 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Welcome to blog land 🙂

    Sorry I didn’t get a chance to stick around and say hi to everyone during the course.

  2. 2 Henk Kleynhans 6 November 2007 at 1:24 am

    Hi Ant,

    Good to see your blog pop up on Muti! Looking forward to more!

  3. 3 ahazell 8 November 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks for popping in guys. Need to get on to my next post.

  4. 4 Paul Jacobson 11 November 2007 at 9:38 am

    Hi

    Good to see your blog up here and it was good to meet you at Nomadic Marketing.

  5. 5 ahazell 12 November 2007 at 10:26 am

    Thanks for paying a visit, Paul. It was good to meet you too.


  1. 1 FB community honours murdered Professor « Ant’s World (SA) Trackback on 23 November 2007 at 11:56 am

Leave a Reply

